AWA Race Team’s Updated 2020 Plans

Photo By: ©Ray MacAloney/

AWA Team Release:

After starting the 2020 IMSA championship from pole position in Daytona, the AWA racing team was ready to continue that momentum at Sebring in March when Covid related travel restrictions put that plan on hold.

Team Principal Andrew Wojteczko said “We’ve been carefully monitoring the Covid situation both at home and in the USA. Non-Essential travel restrictions have been further extended until late July at the earliest coupled with quarantine requirements upon returning to Canada. This presents significant challenges for our team to continue in the revised IMSA championship.”

“We are excited to have the opportunity to compete in the premier Canadian championship’s revised schedule” continued Wojteczko. Orey Fidani along with coaching from Kuno Wittmer will contest the 6 race championship over 3 weekends with the goal of securing top honours in the fastest GT category. Our hopes are travel limitations will ease and we can safely return to IMSA competition later in the year, possibly for Watkins Glen in September, but we will have to wait and see. For now, we have a championship to focus on and an opportunity to get back to the track.”

The team gets rolling again at the first CTCC official test at Shannonville Motorsport Park June 20th. The season kicks off at Canadian Tire Motorsport Park July 25-26 for rounds #1 and #2, rounds #3 and #4 take place at Shannonville Motorsport park August 14-16th, finally rounds #5 and #6 are at Calabogie Motorsport park August 28-30th.

Thank you to our team partners Orlando Corp, McLaren Toronto, OMP, Spyder, Projekt, Urbinco,, Wurth, C17 Media, McLaren Customer Racing, Artistic Interlock, Daisy Toronto, Photos by Jordan Lenssen

Be sure to follow along on the team website at, on Instagram @awaracingteam and on Facebook @AWAracingteam.

@IMSA #CTSCC Qualifying Results for Friday’s Race at Sebring

Pos Car No. Drivers Team Car
3rd GS #8 Patrick Gallagher

Chad McCumbee



Ford Mustang GT4
4th GS #69 Jesse Lazare

Corey Fergus

Motorsports In Action McLaren GT4
5th GS #76 Paul Holton

Matt Plumb

Compass Racing McLaren GT4
8th GS #15 Scott Maxwell

Chase Briscoe



Ford Mustang GT4
9th GS #80 Martin Barkey

Brett Sandberg

AWA Ford Mustang GT4
14th GS #60 Kyle Marcelli

Nate Stacey

Roush Perf

KohR Motorsports

Ford Mustang GT4
15th GS #26 Jayson Clunie

Toby Grahovec

Classic BMW

Vess Energy Group

1st TCR #77 Britt Casey Jr

Tom Long

Compass Racing Audi RS3 LMS
2nd TCR #74 Kuno Wittmer

Rodrigo Sales

Compass Racing Audi RS3 LMS
3rd TCR #75 Roy Block

Pierre Kleinubing

Compass Racing Audi RS3 LMS