Hinchcliffe Qualifies 19th in St Pete’s Indy Race

Qualification Results
The Firestone Grand Prix of St. Petersburg
Pos. Car Driver Time Speed Round
1 14 Takuma Sato 1:01.8686 104.738 Firestone Fast Six
2 10 Tony Kanaan 1:02.1637 104.241 Firestone Fast Six
3 28 Ryan Hunter-Reay 1:02.2167 104.152 Firestone Fast Six
4 12 Will Power 1:02.3955 103.854 Firestone Fast Six
5 9 Scott Dixon 1:02.4454 103.771 Firestone Fast Six
6 25 Marco Andretti 1:02.9595 102.923 Firestone Fast Six
7 34 Carlos Munoz (R) 1:03.3955 102.214 Round 2 / Top 12
8 98 Jack Hawksworth (R) 1:03.5738 101.929 Round 2 / Top 12
9 8 Ryan Briscoe 1:03.6206 101.854 Round 2 / Top 12
10 3 Helio Castroneves 1:03.6635 101.785 Round 2 / Top 12
11 17 Sebastian Saavedra 1:03.8374 101.508 Round 2 / Top 12
12 20 Mike Conway 1:03.9618 101.310 Round 2 / Top 12
13 11 Sebastien Bourdais 1:15.8337 85.450 Qual / Group 1
14 77 Simon Pagenaud 1:12.3741 89.535 Qual / Group 2
15 7 Mikail Aleshin (R) 1:15.9111 85.363 Qual / Group 1
16 19 Justin Wilson 1:12.5890 89.270 Qual / Group 2
17 18 Carlos Huertas (R) 1:16.8105 84.363 Qual / Group 1
18 2 Juan Pablo Montoya 1:12.6994 89.134 Qual / Group 2
19 27 James Hinchcliffe 2.34.4862 41.945 Qual / Group 1
20 83 Charlie Kimball 1:13.0048 88.761 Qual / Group 2
21 15 Graham Rahal No Time No Speed Qual / Group 1
22 67 Josef Newgarden 1:13.1170 88.625 Qual / Group 2

Luc Lesage joins Steckly Stable for 2014 NCATS

TROIS-RIVIERES, Quebec, Canada – Luc Lesage, owner of Trois-Rivières Toyota, announced Wednesday that he would compete in the 2014 NASCAR Canadian Tire Series season with 22 Racing, owned by Scott Steckly.
Steckly is the defending and three-time series champion having won titles in 2008, 2011 and 2013.
“It’s an honor, for me to work for Scott’s team. In addition to his experience and talent, Scott is recognized as one of the most prestigious team owners and prepares excellent cars. I’m sure we’ll have an exciting season,” said Lesage.
The Lesage entry will be sponsored by SportChief-Ecotone, a regional company that distributes extreme condition apparel and gear throughout Canada, the United States and Europe.

Canadian Touring Car Championship releases 2014 Schedule

2014 CTCC Schedule:
May 17-18 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park Super (SC)/ Touring (TC)/ B-Spec (B-S)
June 6-8 Circuit Gilles Villeneuve SC/ TC/ B-S
June 21-22 Calabogie Motorsports Park SC/ TC
July 5-6* Circuit ICAR SC/ TC
July 26-27 Shannonville Motorsports Park SC/ TC
August 7-10 Grand Prix du Trois Rivieres SC/ TC/ B-S
August 30-31 Canadian Tire Motorsport Park SC/ TC/ B-S

* tentative

Mark Wilkins announced to Kia Racing’s 2014 PWC Team

IRVINE, Calif., March 20, 2014 /PRNewswire/ — Coming off an impressive sophomore season in which Kia finished second in the Manufacturer’s Championship and Kia Racing pilot Mark Wilkins took third in the Driver standings, Kia Motors America (KMA) and its racing partner Kinetic Motorsports today announced their driver line-up for the 2014 Pirelli World Challenge (PWC) season. Veteran Nic Jonsson, who scored Kia’s first professional road racing championship in the 2011 Grand-Am Continental Tire Sports Car Challenge, returns to pilot the No. 36 DonorsChoose.org Optima turbo, while Canadian Wilkins retains his seat in the No. 38 B.R.A.K.E.S. Optima turbo after a phenomenal season in 2013 in which he claimed six podiums, including two victories, for Kia Racing.  After narrowly missing the Driver championship in 2013, Wilkins, Jonsson, and the Kia Racing team are eager to get back on track March 29 in St. Petersburg, Fla.

“The Kia Racing team has exceeded our expectations in the Pirelli World Challenge after two solid seasons of intense competition, posting four wins and 12 podiums in that time,” said Michael Sprague, executive vice president of sales and marketing, KMA.  “We had a promising run last year and came close to winning the championship in the season finale.  Nic, Mark and the entire Kia Racing team are outstanding brand ambassadors, helping us to demonstrate the quality, reliability and performance of our U.S.-built Optimas.  We’re very glad to have both drivers back with us again and anxious to build on our strong results and have another shot at the title in 2014.”
The Kia Racing drivers followed two very different paths during the 2013 season.  Wilkins catapulted to the top of the standings, scoring six podiums, including wins at Detroit and Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course.  He also enjoyed 100 percent reliability, suffering zero DNFs during the 14-race season.  That consistent performance for Wilkins’ No. 38 B.R.A.K.E.S. Optima turbo nearly captured the young Kia Racing program its second professional motorsports championship.  But Wilkins’ late-race charge on a wet-but-drying street circuit at the season finale in Houston last fall came up just short.  Jonsson, meanwhile, struggled with tough racing luck throughout the demanding schedule.  Nevertheless, the quick Swede managed to set fast laps and gain much-needed manufacturer points in the No. 36 DonorsChoose.org Optima turbo.
“After the success we had in our first two seasons, I’m thrilled to be back behind of the wheel of the turbocharged Optima for 2014,” said Wilkins.  “We’ve shown improvement each year in the Pirelli World Challenge, and the development of the Optima turbo by Kinetic Motorsports has proven to be impressive; our car is ultra-competitive at all tracks we visit.  Having missed the championship last year by only a few points, I can’t wait to get back on track and start racing again.”
Kia Racing kicks off the 2014 PWC with a doubleheader weekend for rounds 1-2 in St. Petersburg, Fla., on March 29-30.  Race fans can watch live coverage of the races online at www.world-challengetv.com and catch the latest news and updates from the Kia Racing Facebook page at www.facebook.com/kiaracing or follow the team on Twitter: @KiaRacing.

12 Hours of Sebring Unofficial Results

Class Position.              Driver
10.    P                             S.Tremblay
11.    P                             M.Valiante
07.    PC.                         C.Cumming, A.Tagliani
10.    PC.                         D.Ostella
02.    GTLM.                  K.Wittmer
07.    GTD.                     P.Dalla Lana

04.     GS.                        M.Riddle
07      GS.                        S.Maxwell
11.     GS.                        M.Barkey, K.Marcelli
26.     GS.                        A.Mantelli, M.Wilkins